Volvo Owners Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I just got my 1994 850 Wagon waxed and it now shines!! However, the company that waxed it said they noticed some of the green (colour of my car) on their cloth after waxing. If i rub my hand over the car, i also see some green "dust" on my hand!!! What should i do to save my paint job??

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
The only thing I could suggest it to talk to someone that knows that feild.
A body shop or something like that.

·
Premium Member
8,352 Posts
Hi Rpritch,

I'm not an expert on paintworks, nor am I yet on volvos, but generally, I think your paintwork is in SERIOUS need of attention!

If the paint doesn't wear-off that easily before, maybe you should consider using other kinds of more paint-friendly waxes.

I would suggest you visit a paintworks shop, the soonest. Unless, of course, you are just waiting for a reason to change the colour of your ride.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Here is a photo of the problem...normal? oxidized paint? needs a good polish and wax? I have no idea...any info whould be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
8,352 Posts
Again, I am not an expert on paintwork, but I seriously doubt this is normal.

Come to think of it, I remembered my dad's Toyota Starlet 1.3L that gave the same problem long ago. We took the easy way out by sending it to the oven for a respray of a different colour. (From silver to white). I remember he had to pay a little extra cos the painter/sprayer had to scrape the car first, or something like that.

Make sense, ah?

Has your 855 been subjected to harsh environment abuse? Parking in direct hot sunlight, outside of garage, with morning dew, and all? All the environment forces are not very friendly to the paint finishes.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·