Volvo Owners Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think that I already know the answer to this question, but because I am a poor college student, I am always looking for shortcuts. Anyways, I drive a 97 850 GLT. In the manual it says that the lowest octane for this car is 87. Can I get away with filling up on 85 every once and awhile. I heard that low octane creates ping in these high performance engines. Any thoughts....thanks

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
You should be ok filling with 85 once in a while.It might cause pinging but the car has knock sensors that will retard timing to help the pinging out.

·
Registered
49 Posts
QUOTE(xpiecemealx @ Feb 22 2005, 02:15 PM)93 all the way!
[snapback]3822[/snapback]​

I only use 93 too. If there was 91 available, I'd use that. 87 and 89 are too low octane. The manual says to use 91. I buy my gas at Costco usually and they just have two octane options.

·
Registered
12 Posts
QUOTE(Trix @ Feb 26 2005, 07:55 PM)I only use 93 too. If there was 91 available, I'd use that. 87 and 89 are too low octane. The manual says to use 91. I buy my gas at Costco usually and they just have two octane options.
[snapback]4058[/snapback]​

Just curious, 93 in US corresponds to 93 in Europe?

Cause I`ve been driven my T5 only on 98 for almost 10 years, my T5 birth on 24 of march 1995.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Depending on where you live...I live in Denver, you don't necessarily have to run the higher octane fuel.

Example: I have a 97 850-R which the book recommends 91 octane, but I run 85 octane with no noticable difference in performance. I have run 91 before and cannot tell any difference, although, if I want to drive in the mountains, I will try to run 91 for the anti-knock and higher altitudes.