Volvo Owners Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
My T4 has a bit of juddering at 4000rpm when accelerating hard in 3rd (manual gearbox) gear. Not noticeble in 1st or 2nd gear. If I drive through the problem the car seems to lost it power. New coil leads and plugs have been fitted.
The problem can be worse some days than others.
I would appreciate any help on the matter
Thanks

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes both coils and the fly leads for cylinders 1 & 2. Also i have checked the condition of plugs lately and all are in good condition and burning evenly.
Thanks

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
But because they look good doesn't mean they are good how old are they?

They only have a life of 30,000 miles.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I have exactly the same problem on my 1998 V40 T4. I have been chasing this fault for 2 years now. I have replaced both coils and leads and it has actually cut out on me. I am starting to think that it is fuel starvation / pressure drop to the fuel rail.
I have noticed that it is worse if you are low on fuel and going uphill it has actually ground to a halt. After waiting 10 minutes it will start up again and be fine for another few months.
I removed my fuel pump from the tank and found that it was covered in black dirt - including the whole of the tank inside. As a quick fix I cleaned up the filter on the end of the pump and put it back - hey presto no missfires for a few months.
I now intend to clean the whole of the tank out properly.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·