Volvo Owners Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all. my 1995 960 has a pronounced whine when accellerating and when cruising at about 100k. at 120 it stops. any ideas. thanks

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
Does it do it more when it is cold then stops when the car warms up?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for replying tech. it happens all the time when i accelerate and when cruising at about 110k or so but stops completely at about 125-130. bu the way i still have the raw gas smell. i took it to a dealer who looked at it and found nothing obvious. wanted me to leave it but had no idea how long it would take. I bought an air freshener. regards

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
Have you had the timing belt and other parts replaced lately?

·
Registered
16 Posts
As a Volvo Tech I have found that alot of times the tensoner pulley is at fault. This can also be very dangerous as if this pulley fails the timing belt will surely break causing extensive damage. Alot of times it sounds like the serp belt tensioner, however it is more sever.

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
QUOTE(volvotek @ Sep 24 2005, 03:00 PM)As a Volvo Tech I have found that alot of times the tensoner pulley is at fault. This can also be very dangerous as if this pulley fails the timing belt will surely break causing extensive damage. Alot of times it sounds like the serp belt tensioner, however it is more sever.
[snapback]15774[/snapback]​

Thats what I was trying to get to Thanks for suggesting it first.

Thats why I was asking the Quiestions I asked first.

·
Premium Member
8,352 Posts
Just one question, guys (Tech and Volvotek):

If it has escalated to the point of making a whining noise, don't you think it has passed the red-zone threshold mark already?

My tech here told me when I agreed to change mine last month that as a rule of thumb, you should change the tensioner every 2 times you change the timing belt.

Is that OK?
Thanks...

·