Volvo Owners Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here Hi to all
I have a 1995 850 and the left cv joint is going bad. How hard is it to replace ?

Thanks Fish

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
Your better off buying a rebuilt Axle.They really arent that bad to change unless you live some where that is prone to rust.Then it might give you a hard time.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks,
Where is the best place to get a rebuilt axle
Does anyone have instructions ?

Thanks for all help
Fish

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
Check your Phone book and see if you can find a CV rebuilding place in your area.
I don't have any instructions on paper I just lknow how to do it.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
QUOTE(Tech @ Feb 28 2005, 12:51 PM)Check your Phone book and see if you can find a CV rebuilding place in your area.
I don't have any instructions on paper I just lknow how to do it.
[snapback]4182[/snapback]​

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
How long can I run it with the bad cv joint, the car shakes sometimes but not all the time. I ordered a rebuild axle, but it will take a couple of days to get here

Thanks Fish

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
One more thing do cv joints leak oil ? I have two or three half dollar size drops of oil on the garage floor each time I drive the car

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Help part of the cv joint is still in the trans. How do i get it out ????? It looks like it a press fit

Fish

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
You must be talking about on the drivers side(left) of the car.You need to get a big screwdriver or a long jack handle.There is a clip that locks when the axle is installed.You need to work it out.If it is on the other side you did remove the 2 screws correct?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·