Volvo Owners Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My '97 960 has had a complete braking light failure. Have T/S as much as I possibly can w/o schematics and have yet to find anything. All wires in the trunk ohm out perfectly. Have power to the fuse and the fuse is good with power to the other side of the fuse. Brake switch ohms out good when pressed however there is no poer to either one of the wires to the switch. Please help if you can. I am an aircraft electrician and know how to shoot wires but I can't go much farther w/o a schematic b/c I don't particularly feel like tearing into the main bundles. So if anyone has seen this problem before and has any ideas or if someone could provide me with some schematics I would be eternaly gratefull. Thanx - K_LAB

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
You have no power at all to the brakelight switch?Does your car have 2 switches?Some had 2 one for the cruise control and the other for the brake lights.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am having the same exact problem in my 1997 960, schematics would be great. Folks have talked about similar issues with the 940, they refer to the bulb failure circuit or relay that may have cracked or cold solder joints near the high current lugs. Howver, I cannot locate this bulb failure system in my car. Any ideas on it's location?

·
Registered
95 Posts
First, call IPD at 800-444-6473, and talk to them about the problem. For a 940 the "Bulb Integrity Sensor" is $72.00. I know because I ordered one today. Second, to find this Sensor and other sensor or relays open the panel to the fuse panel, deeper inside is the sensor. On the 940 it is red. From the IPD catalog..

First check:

1. Fuse
2. Brake Switch
3. Tailight circuit boards, expecially at the connector
4. Bulb and socket condition

Hope this helps.........

Wedwagon

·
Registered
3 Posts