Volvo Owners Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I'm brand new to the Volvo world (and the car world). I just got myself a 1990 240 DL sedan. Everything about it sortof seems too good to be true. 60,000 miles. One owner. Beautiful condition. I drove it around and the wheel vibrated a bit, so the place I'm buying it from said they'll check the engine mounts. I'm not sure if that'll do it but I hope so. It also seemed like it was a little hard to turn the wheel. Is this common for these cars?

I'm surprised also because it has electric everything! Well, it has electric mirrors, windows, and sunroof! I hadn't even seen a 240 with a sunroof before this one.

So, all of that stuff made it seem like it was too good to be true! Then slowly I found little things that made me think the dealer was perhaps trying to trick me? For instance, the left side passenger door doesn't open from the inside or the out. The dealer said it was because the child lock was jammed but it still sketched me out. In general I'm just worried the car will poop out on me the second I drive it out of their lot. It seems like $5000 for a 1990 240 with only 60K miles is slightly too good to be true. I got a carfax report, and it was totally clean. There's been one recall from 1989 which was this: Recall #P2909 Control unit LH2.4. I don't know if they know about it, but I'm going to call them and ask them to fix that as well (unless you guys advise otherwise).

Anything else I should know before getting myself into the volvo world? This 240 seems fantastic. It has no dents or anything. (It's white). It feels sortof like driving a tank :)

Gabe

·
Volvo Guru !
5,908 Posts
Try to get them to fix it or drop the price down some on it.
Also take it to someone that knows Volvo's and have it inspected.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·