Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Hello, we have answers for your Volvo-related questions!. Why not take a few moments to ask a question, help provide a solution or just engage in a conversation with another member in any one of our forums. Together we can make our Volvo community a better place.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Do you like Volvo-Forums.com? Link to us and help spread the word about our forum. Thanks!
> Cam Alignment And Tool 999-5452
ToyoLoyal
post Nov 13 2010, 11:25 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 81,331
Drives: 1996 Ford F250

Hello, new to the forum here, thanks for all the info and help I've received already.

I am an ASE Master Tech and have done scores of T-belts and cam seals, but always on Asian or American stuff, so imagine my surprise when I whipped off the cam pulleys like I have done dozens of times, and found that there is no key to align the pulley when you put it back together.

I've read everything I can find on this, but I still have a couple of things I don't understand. I never work on these cars, and am only doing it because it is a friend, but now I've got to get it back together.

Here's where I'm at:
I did not buy tool 999-5452, but I do have the notches in the back of the cams aligned with the seam between the head and cam cover. They are perfectly aligned.

Also I installed the pulleys and aligned their notches with the notches in the t-belt cover. I do not understand why this won't work. I did not loosen the small bolts that hold the t-belt sprocket to the vvt unit. I only loosened the center bolt on the vvt.

I am confident that with a spanner wrench holding the pulley that I can torque the center bolt, but the book describes a process of turning the vvt unit one way and then the other, but I don't really see what they are turning. I took the unit off with pulley and vvt together, and don't see what turns unless I take it further apart.