Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Hello, we have answers for your Volvo-related questions!. Why not take a few moments to ask a question, help provide a solution or just engage in a conversation with another member in any one of our forums. Together we can make our Volvo community a better place.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Do you like Volvo-Forums.com? Link to us and help spread the word about our forum. Thanks!
> Lambda Light On, Always on ever since I bought the car.
Zvika960
post Nov 17 2009, 08:13 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 64,750
Drives: Volvo 960 3.0L 24V 1994

Hello all,
I'm new to the Volvo world and to this forum. I bought my first Volvo ~10 days ago.
It's a 1994 960 3.0L 24V. I was looking for a 2nd car and the desire for a Volvo came after I drove my friend's 740.

The Lambda light is ON all the time. The previous owner said he replaced the air flow sensor but it requires reseting for the light to be turned Off. Is that true? Can you please advise?

Thanks,
Zvika
Go to the top of the page

QuoteReply
danr960
post Nov 17 2009, 03:10 PM
Post #2

Senior

Member No.: 23,965
Drives: '94 964

I believe that computer would sense that the new sensor was working and turn off the check engine light, it would still leave a code to read, that would need to be reset.

The old owner may have read the code, and it may have been about the MAF sensor, they replaced it and it still is causing the code. Many times the code is only a clue to real source of the fault. It is a starting point and most of the time the actual sensor is fine.

The code can be read with the box under the hood on the driverside fender. In order to reset the first code has to be read twice. Then the procedure to erase has to be performed. See attachment.

How does the engine run? Most likely an air leak is the problem. Look for holes or cracks in the air ducting.